A bumpy ride

My bike is a hybrid – it’s a mix of a racing bike and mountain bike, so it’s quite light, but also it’s strong.  It didn’t take long for it’s strength to be tested yesterday as the first hour of the ride took me down the Thames Path.  Well, not so much a path, but a bumpy field of lush grass and four herds of dairy cows.  This wasn’t the smooth ride I intended.

One cow in particular was a little too close and gave me a piercing stare.  But I steeled my nerves and peddled/bumped along.  The Thames Path is not made for bikes.  After breathing a sigh of relief after surreptiously negotiating round one particularly large (pregnant?) cow, the next hurdle really was an obstacle.  Stiles. 

In fact, not just one stile but a huge step with a gap and a thin bridge and the same at the other end.  Who recommended this route?!! 

A couple of walkers in front hurried on, they clearly didn’t want to help me lug the bike over and I can barely lift it round, let alone a metre up a step.   So I had to unload, two paniers, tent poles and carefully made sure the chain didn’t get bashed in the process.  I am going to get as strong as my bike.  Give me the road I pleaded silently. 

Fortunately another couple came along and held the bike steady whilst I re-loaded the paniers and bumped off in the direction of the sound of cars.

This entry was posted in One girl and two wheels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bumpy ride

  1. Helen-Ann says:

    Hey Honey

    You are made of strong stuff – go girl! Your journey so far gives a good analogy of christian walk of faith. Really pleased someone was kind enough to help you. Now put your feet up with that cream scone.
    Lots of love xx

  2. Mum says:

    Hhhmmm…I suppose it’s important to travel on the right path….he he

Leave a comment