The Jamboree and being lost in maize

My family are characerised by exuberance and generosity and this weekend at Glebe Farm was a good example.  Surrounded by empty fields full of maize, twenty five of us played rounders without rules, ‘crocket’ (cricket pronounced by my 5 year old Spanish cousin) and pass the parcel – flipchart paper wrapped around the smallest chocolates – but oh how we laughed! 

Later on as usual, (instead of the traditional group singing of country songs that I wish I knew the words to), dancing started under the marquee & even my granny moved outside to find a seat underneath the black canopy of nature.  We spotted two shooting stars splinter across the midnight sky and gasped in awe.    The evening drew on and the bbq tasted delicious with homegrown hamburgers, sausuages and a roasted duck. mmm. 

As the dancing grew wilder my Granny turned to me and said, ‘I do often look at them all and wonder how they all belong to me.. Well at least only half of them are my direct responsibility.’  I chuckled. 

We are a lovely bunch and it was a relaxing time being surrounded by people who have known each other, for the best part of fifty years – or since us younger ones were born.  Feeding the chickens, pigs and sheep was a lot of fun too. 

Later on the Sunday my uncle intrigued my mum and dad and I to wander a few rows into the maize that backs onto their land to experience it – it’s quite strange said uncle A.  And so we did, with little nathalia.  The leaves came right over our heads, slapping into our faces, the sweetcorn pushing into our sides and as we looked up, we could see only blue.  A few steps in and you realise how easy it would be to get lost – just like the scary bits in films (forest gump perhaps?).  I enjoyed it for the few minutes we were in there, abandoned to the feeling.  Hollers of goodbye wove their way through the leaves as family started to depart and we rushed back following carefully the route we had entered the maize/maze.

On Monday morning Aunty Ginny packed me a delicious lunch, Uncle Andrew guided me to the first set of roads and the kids ran behind waving me off.  I’ll try and put a picture of them on here.

This entry was posted in Family, One girl and two wheels, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Jamboree and being lost in maize

  1. Mum says:

    This post made me cry….
    soppy aren’t I? You called it lost in maize but you didn’t say about how we were lost in maize…how amazing is that?!!!! Love you.

  2. Linda Lee says:

    Aunty Lou says – Sorry we were not there, but you have made it come to life for us, and, just for the record, I don’t think any one of us knows all the words – but we all know some of them and the result is fun! Love you

Leave a comment